Sydney | Melbourne | Perth | India | UAE

Home  |  About Us  |  Pay Bills  |  Client Portal  |  Contact Us

Points for Specialist Educational Qualifications

From 16 Nov 2019, for the general skilled migration points test, you can claim 10 points if you have met the requirements for the “specialist educational qualification” award.

You must have completed either a:

  • Masters degree by research (as opposed to a Masters by coursework)
  • Doctoral degree (PhD)

At least 2 academic years of study in Australia needs to be attributed to the qualification and be awarded by an Australian educational institution.

The qualification needs to be in a Department of Immigration specified field, which covers “STEM” specialisations (ie Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and Information and Communication Technology (ICT).

The “specialist education” fields are defined follows:

Broad Field of Education Narrow Field of Education
Natural and Physical Sciences Biological Sciences
Chemical Sciences
Earth Sciences
Mathematical Sciences
Natural and Physical Sciences
Other Natural and Physical Sciences
Physics and Astronomy
Information Technology Computer Science
Information Systems
Information Technology
Other Information Technology
Engineering and Related Technologies Aerospace Engineering and Technology
Civil Engineering
Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Technology
Engineering and Related Technologies
Geomatic Engineering
Manufacturing Engineering and Technology
Maritime Engineering and Technology
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering and Technology
Other Engineering and Related Technologies
Process and Resources Engineering