Sydney | Melbourne | Perth | India | UAE

Home  |  About Us  |  Pay Bills  |  Client Portal  |  Contact Us

Applicants for a number of visa subclasses need to first lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) and only the best candidates will receive an invitation to lodge their applications.

The following types of application can only be lodged through SkillSelect:

  1. Skilled (Points Tested) Visas
    • Skilled Independent Subclass 189 Visas
    • Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 Visas
    • Skilled Regional (Provisional) Subclass 489 Visas
  2. Business Skills Visas
    • Business Talent Subclass 132 Visas
    • Business Innovation & Investment Subclass 188 Visas

By utilising SkillSelect, certain employer sponsored visas can applied for. But this is optional, meaning it is possible to apply directly rather than through SkillSelect:

  • Employer Nomination Scheme – ENS
  • Regional Skilled Migration Scheme – RSMS
  • 457 Temporary Work (Skilled)
How SkillSelect applies to Skilled Points Tested Visas

To lodge an EOI, it is necessary that your skills assessment has been created, while being able to provide evidence of your English language ability.

A state or territory government nomination can additionally be gained prior to lodging an EOI, which will improve your chances of getting an invitation.

Processing of EOIs – Independent and Family Sponsored Applicants

The Department of Immigration regularly reviews the EOIs for Independent and Family Sponsored Applicants, which have been lodged. The best candidates will then be issued with an invitation to make an application for skilled points tested migration. This currently happens every two weeks.

Each occupational group is also assigned a quota, often referred to as an “occupational ceiling“. Every applicant with the best points score will be issued an invitation. Everyone with a higher points score due to having a greater amount of work experience, better English scores and higher qualifications will have much better chances to gain an invitation.

Processing of EOIs – State Nominated Applicants

For anyone looking to be nominated by a state or territory government, they will first need to lodge an EOI. At the time an applicants’ nomination has been completed by a state or territory government, they will generally receive an immediate invitation from SkillSelect.

A passing score is also required to receive an invitation (currently 65 points (as of 1 July 2018) for Skilled Points Tested applicants.

Although occupational ceilings are not applied to state nominated applicants, states and territories may have internal quotas for each occupation.

Time Limit to Apply after being Invited

Once having received an invitation, you are required to make your visa application within 60 days.

Your invitation will lapse if you do not apply within this time. It must also be noted that there is no guarantee you will be re-invited later, if you have already been invited once. In any case, a maximum of 2 invitations can be issued before your application is removed from the EOI system. Put plainly, preparing ahead of time is vital to ensure you are able to apply and be accepted on time.